8 Shots on Brien Bennett

This picture is of Brien Bennett playing goalie, and was taken from his twitter account.

Brien Bennett is a senior and the starting goaltender for the Profs.  I recently spoke with him and asked a few questions.

1. How long have you been playing hockey?

I’ve been playing since about 9. I started out playing some roller hockey at a local rink and transitioned into ice for my first year of bantam.

2. Why did you become a goalie?

I grew up with 3 brothers and I think I was the only one nuts enough to jump in front of pucks in the driveway! (Laughs) It takes a different disposition.

3. What do you do to get ready for a game, listen to music? Do you have any pregame rituals?

It takes a lot of things in my routine. The music I leave to Timmy Larkin in the locker room. He’s got good tunes. I also eat at a certain time, warm up a certain way, and put my gear on in a specific order. (Laughs) I also drive the same route to the rink every day.

4. The team is off to a great start this year, why have you been so successful?

I think it’s our work ethic and our speed. Being a little undersized compared to the big ranked teams we need to smother the puck with our bodies. Every guy brings a winning competitiveness into the rink.

5. What was the showcase in Maryland like?

It was a lot of fun. Getting a “roadie” early in the season helps the boys really gel. It also lets us focus on the games and what we need to do to be successful. The score sheets definitively reflect that.

6. Was it hard playing 3 games in 3 days?

A little, but we’ve been preparing for this all summer. It gets to your legs a little but the biggest challenge is staying mentally sharp. I think we did a really good job of staying focused.

7. At the home games there is usually a decent crowd, does that help motivate you?

Of course. We love our fans, they’re the best in the ACHA from my experience. They are behind us every night and that’s a great feeling to have.

8. Do you hear the things the “Rugby Guys” chant?

Not specifically all the time. They come up with some good material. Their energy level definitively radiates through the crowd and the players on the bench.

The Profs next game is Saturday at 8:15 against Temple.

One response to “8 Shots on Brien Bennett

  1. Very interesting post. I love the topic. I would make the photos for each article bigger though. It will help emphasize the story more.

Leave a Reply

